Naka – New Album from Moussa Coulibaly

Posted by on Jul 31, 2013 in Albums, Bands and Artists | No Comments

Moussa Coulibaly has released his new album Naka that was recorded, mixed and mastered at Hot Milk Studio. We discussed the amazing one-man band recording details for Naka here.

Moussa Coulibaly

Moussa Coulibaly – Naka Album


  1. Naka
  2. Warabese
  3. Aije
  4. Wenucien
  5. Konia
  6. Djansa
  7. Jerefo magni
  8. Hakili soro
  9. Abao
  10. Madjani
  11. Njudio
  12. Haira ale wajia


Moussa Coulibaly sang all vocals and played all instruments. The instruments used on this album included:

  • Balaphone (pentatonic, Malian)
  • Ngoni
  • Djembe
  • Dundun
  • Kenkeni
  • Tama
  • Bara
  • Kania
  • Bells

About Moussa Coulibaly

Moussa a master musician from a griot family in Burkina Faso who plays all his instruments with equal proficiency. In addition to singing on this session, he also played Malian balaphone, pentatonic balaphone, ngoni (kora), djembe, dundun, kenkeni, tama (talking drum), bara, kania and African bells.

Moussa began to learn his craft at just 6 years of age. Soon, he played with bands and artists such as Benkadi, Les frères Coulibaly, Lanaya, Parisi, Arouna Dembele and Adama Dramé. He has toured often in Europe with Semstaba, Mamadou Diabaté and Parisi.

Since 2012, Moussa Coulibaly has lived and worked in Berlin and throughout Germany. He specialises in traditional West African rhythms and improvisations and composes his own songs. He has also performed with salsa, reggae and jazz musicians. At workshops and perfomances, he accompanies traditional and contemporary African dancers. Moussa Coulibaly also teaches all traditional West African instruments solo and in band context.

Leave a Reply